ICC unveils T20 World Cup 2024 schedule

Tournament T20 World Cup 2024 will kick off on June 1 with 55 matches scheduled in United States and West Indies

ICC unveils T20 World Cup 2024 schedule

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Friday announced the much-awaited schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 set to kick off on June 1 with Canada taking on hosts USA in a group A match scheduled to be held in Dallas.

Meanwhile, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will lock horns on June 9 at New York’s Eisenhower Park.

It is to be noted that the mega event will be played across two countries with the US and West Indies hosting a total of 55 matches between them.

The venues in West Indies include Barbados’ Kensington Oval, Trinidad’s Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Guyana’s Providence Stadium, Antigua’s Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, St Lucia’s Darren Sammy Cricket Ground, and St Vincent’s Arnos Vale Stadium.

Meanwhile, in the US, three venues will host the games including New York’s Eisenhower Park, Florida’s Lauderhill, and Grand Prairie in Texas.

The Semi-finals of the event will be played on June 26 and 27 in Guyana and Trinidad, respectively, while the World Cup final will take place in Barbados on June 29.

Pakistan’s schedule for T20 World Cup 2024

June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas

June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York

June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York

June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

A total of 20 qualifying teams have been divided into four groups of five, from which the top two teams of every group will make their way to the Super eight round.

In that stage, qualifying teams will once again be divided into two groups of four, from which the top two teams will make their way to the semi-final and then the winners will play the final.

This will be the first time since 2010 that a T20 World Cup, which was won by England, will be hosted in the West Indies.

On the other hand, this is the first time an event as big as the World Cup will be hosted by the US.

England are the defending champions after clinching the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, beating Pakistan in the final.